Shaviyani Bileffahi : The Postcard Real Maldives

Name      :  Anton Ericsson
Country  :  Sweden

 

I never thought that I would come to the Maldives without spending a fortune on a super fancy resort, though I am glad that I was wrong.

Thanks to Ashfam I got in contact with a very nice man Ibrahim Faisal on a remote and small island called Bileffahi way up north in the Maldives. I stayed with him and his family ate with them more or less every meal and of course got to know them very well. As all people on inhabited islands they are very welcoming and friendly.

1296

I also got to know many people from the rest of the island. I spent a lot of time at the local café, where most of the people hang out. Whenever someone was going out fishing, snorkeling or going for a trip to a nearby island they’d ask me if I wanted to join. I had some amazing experiences catching fish, octopus and lobster with spear, hook and net.

Many evenings there was some event. Either it’s a football match, a dinner party in the school, some students performing a play or just some gathering. Everybody was very happy when they saw that I as a tourist showed up and was interested in what was going on and I was super exited because you can relate to so much of what’s happening!

As everywhere in the Maldives the water is super clear, hot as in a tub and full of fish. The beaches are also very nice with clear white sand, palm trees and there is always a couple of swings nearby to chill out on.

One of the best experiences I had was cooking with Ibrahim’s mother and his sisters. I spend two days with them learning to make the local curry powder and the typical short eats or Heddikha. Delicious!

1138

If you’re looking for a country where you can feel safe enough to leave your camera, phone and wallet next to your towel when you’re going for a 2 hour snorkeling by the local reef, the Maldives is the place to go. Because the islands are small and everybody knows each other no one will try to scam you or do something funny, they play it honest.

The only problem right now is that it’s very hard to find all the people interested in this kind of travels but with this blog, things will be easier and I hope you go to the Maldives, it’s more than worth a visit!

939

Leave a Reply

